top of page

Conductor & Composer

Rei Munakata

Home: Welcome


Biography - Conductor, composer, and educator

Born in Yokohama Japan, Rei Munakata is a conductor and composer in the field of Classical modern music. Imaginative creativity, experimental curiosity, detailed handcraft, and musical fluidity as the core, Rei Munakata conducts and composes for chamber musicians, ensembles, orchestras, instruments, and sound objects all over the world. Rei Munakata is also a passionate educator, and regularly leads instrumental and composition workshops and teaches chamber music in music universities and conservatories.

Home: Bio
Curious Chamber Players Rei Munakata

Curious Chamber Players

Always curious, CCP has since its inception in 2003 explored a wide range of new music repertoire: from hard-core modernism to graphically notated chance music, from minimalism to noise music, and from electronics to improvisation. Rei Munakata is one of the co-founders and artistic directors of the ensemble. Rei has led the group to numerous music festivals such as Darmstadt Summer Course, Impuls, Gaudeamus, Ultraschall to name a few.

Home: Projects
Århus Sinfonietta+ // Lisa Streich: Augenlider (2015)
Århus Sinfonietta

Århus Sinfonietta+ // Lisa Streich: Augenlider (2015)

Lisa Streich: Augenlider (2015) // Århus Sinfonietta+ (Århus Sinfonietta + studerende ved Det Jyske Musikkonservatorium) / solist Frederik Munk Larsen / dirigent Rei Munakata 15.11.20 Panorama Festival Skt. Lukas Kirke Music is community. It is important to Århus Sinfonietta to form their own communities which can both pioneer New Music of the highest quality and secure the musical food chain in our local community. In this project, Århus Sinfonietta's musicians will meet with instrumental students from the Royal Academy of Music. Århus Sinfonietta's permanent members will be expanded with more than 20 students, and together form a brand new chamber orchestra. For the project, Århus Sinfonietta, together with the Royal Academy of Music, Aarhus, invites Swedish-German composer Lisa Streich to Aarhus, where the newly formed chamber orchestra will work with her guitar concerto, Augenlider. The piece is rearranged by Lisa Streich especially for the new instrumentation and Århus Sinfonietta's principal guitarist, Frederik Munk Larsen, is the soloist of the piece. In addition, Monika Szpyrka and Michael Hope will write new pieces for the project. Both are students of composition at the Royal Academy of Music. The concert will therefore also give the audience the opportunity to experience the compositional food chain for New Music, as well as the instrumental. ----------------- Musik er fællesskab. Derfor er det vigtigt for Århus Sinfonietta at danne egne fællesskaber, der både kan rumme banebrydende Ny Musik af højeste kvalitet og sikre den musikalske fødekæde i vores lokalmiljø. Til dette projekt mødes Århus Sinfoniettas musikere med instrumentalstuderende fra Det Jyske Musikkonservatorium. Århus Sinfoniettas faste besætning bliver udvidet med over 20 studerende, der så udgør et helt nyt kammerorkester. Til projektet inviterer Århus Sinfonietta sammen med Det Jyske Musikkonservatorium den svensk-tyske komponist Lisa Streich til Aarhus, hvor det nyoprettede kammerorkester skal arbejde med hendes guitarkoncert, Augenlider. Værket har Lisa Streich omarrangeret specielt til den nye besætning og Århus Sinfoniettas faste guitarist, Frederik Munk Larsen, er solist i værket. Derudover vil Monika Szpyrka og Michael Hope skrive nye værker til projektet. Begge er komponiststuderende ved Det Jyske Musikkonservatorium. Koncerten vil derfor også give publikum muligheden for at opleve den kompositoriske fødekæde for Ny Musik, såvel som den instrumentale. Video: Klavs Kehlet Århus Sinfonietta+ is supported by the Danish Composers' Society / KODA Culture, Danish Arts Foundation's Music Committee, Queen Margrethe and the Prince Henrik's Foundation, Aarhus Municipality's Initiative Fund, William Demant's Foundation, Knud Højgaard's Foundation and Aage og Johanne Louis-Hansen's Foundation.
Home: Videos


If you have any comment or question about my work, please do not hesitate to contact me via email or simply filling out the form below!

  • SoundCloud
  • YouTube
  • Facebook

Thanks for submitting!

SPEED Klang Festival Literaturhus Copenhagen
Home: Contact
bottom of page